(08) 8301 4800


Afrikaans is a West Germanic language descended from Dutch and spoken mainly in South Africa and Namibia. There are also speakers of Afrikaans in Australia, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, the UK, etc. About 10 million people speak Afrikaans as a first or second language, and several millions more have a basic knowledge of the language.

Afrikaans has retained some features of 18th century Dutch, together with vocabulary from various Bantu and Khoisan languages, and also from Portuguese and Malay.

In 1925 Afrikaans was recognised as a language in its own right, and has changed little since then.

Currently there is no language specific curriculum designed for Afrikaans at senior secondary level. Therefore it is taught as a part of the Language and Culture framework.

To find more about Language and Culture click here to go to the SACE website.

Department for Education logo
SA Gov logo
Creative Commons logo
Branding SA logo