(08) 8301 4800


Hindi is the name given to an Indo-Aryan language, spoken in northern and central India. Native speakers of Hindi account for 41% of the Indian population. As defined in the Constitution of India, Hindi is one of the two official languages of communication (English being the other) for India’s federal government.

Official Hindi is often described as Standard Hindi which, along with English, is used for administration of the central government. Hindustani or Standard Hindi is also an official language of Fiji.

Department for Education logo
SA Gov logo
Creative Commons logo
Branding SA logo