(08) 8301 4800


Spanish is one of the most widely spoken languages in the world with more than 500,000,000 speakers. It is one of five official languages of the United Nations and one of three of the European Union.

Spanish is the official language of Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, The Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain (including Ceuta and Melilla in North Africa), Uruguay and Venezuela.

It is an important language of the Pacific rim of nations and of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Committee (APEC). It is the second most spoken language of the United States of America where more than 40 million people have Spanish as their first language.

Due to the steady history of migration from Spanish-speaking countries to Australia, Spanish remains an important community language throughout Australia.

Department for Education logo
SA Gov logo
Creative Commons logo
Branding SA logo